Sunday Summary

  1. Ooo, look at this trailer from Ciara Knight’s Rise From Darkness
  2. The li’l ol’ blog is turning one in April :throws confetti: and you guys get the gifts. Come back on Tuesday for all the details.
  3. August McLaughlin had fun comparing dogs and people in her Which Pooch are You? post.
  4. So, I’ve been in a bit of a funk this week. No writing or revisions or even brainstorming of the shiny…blah. One thing this last round of ROW80 taught me was that counting words works better for me than counting pages or scenes or chapters. I was talking with Melanie Macek about tracking progress. She counts words even during revisions/edits and I think I’ll be trying that as I move forward.
  5. The funk hasn’t applied to reading. I think I’ll make the reading of craft books more of a priority in Round 2. Roni Loren’s 12 Writer Woes & the Books to Cure Them post is full of great books.
  6. Trying to maintain my ‘health’ goal this week has been laughable. Back to basics with A Small Guide to Big Changes from Tiny Buddha.
  7. I’ll wrap this summary up with a gratitude reminder from Marcy Kennedy’s Does Thank You Mean We Forget? post.
18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. August McLaughlin
    Mar 25, 2012 @ 05:54:08

    What a great post to wake up to. Thanks for the link-up! I really dug Marcy’s and Roni’s posts, too. :)

    Can’t wait to join in your blog-BD celebration! Hope your week’s off to a great start.

    Reply

  2. Nadja Notariani
    Mar 25, 2012 @ 07:44:08

    What a great hodge-podge of features, Raelyn! I hope your ‘funk’ falls by the wayside this week. I’m going to read through my WIP one more time and then – it’s publish time! After that – I’m looking forward to two weeks of indulging in reading some books for fun before it’s back to work. ;}

    Reply

  3. Maria Zannini
    Mar 25, 2012 @ 09:32:42

    I don’t think I could ever track my writing. I think I would obsess about it too much. All that guilt. LOL.

    Reply

    • Raelyn Barclay
      Mar 25, 2012 @ 10:03:01

      LOL, if I don’t track it somehow it falls into hobby territory and probably wouldn’t move beyond crappy first drafts.

      Thanks for stopping by Maria :)

      Reply

    • Melanie Macek
      Mar 25, 2012 @ 12:41:33

      Maria, I thought the same thing when I first started. Another writer challenged me to write 100 words a day. If nothing else, it gets my Butt In Chair everyday. Some days good, others-not so much. But I try. It’s gotten rid of any type of “writers block” I used to experience. So for that, keeping track of the words is well worth it for me. Each person is different.

      Reply

  4. Angela Brown
    Mar 25, 2012 @ 10:34:05

    Well, so this week may not have been the “stellar” star week. But you certainly put together a great post of links of fun.

    Loved that book trailer for Rise From Darkness.

    Reply

  5. Melanie Macek
    Mar 25, 2012 @ 12:44:06

    Thanks for the mention Raelyn. I have to add, it’s dang near impossible to keep track of the exact word count when editing. But if I end up rewriting two full paragraphs, I know I’ve met my daily goal of 100 words a day and the rest is gravy! Every thing after that just feels so much better having accomplished it. Each person has a different goal that works with their wants, needs, writing style. It’s just finding it. The 100 words a day works for me. :)

    Reply

  6. Trackback: Single Image Sundays: The Emerging Dog (Detail) « rsmithing
  7. Marcy Kennedy
    Mar 26, 2012 @ 06:33:28

    I may need to start reading posts on Sunday :) You have some great links, and thanks for including me in the list!

    Reply

  8. Ciara Knight
    Mar 26, 2012 @ 12:17:57

    Wow, thanks for the shout out Raelyn!! I’m not online Sundays, so this was a nice surprise today. :) I might have to start logging on. :)

    Reply

A penny for your thoughts

March 2012
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives

