Sunday Summary & #ROW80

Group 1: Thank You, Hello, Follow Your Dreams, & Love cards.

Here’s a tease of the cards up for grabs in the blogiversary giveaway…

Okay, on to the update.

  1. The Writing: Apparently, working on the shiny is speaking to me this week :)
    • Monday: 805 words mostly new wordage with a bit of character development.
    • Tuesday: 685 words toward character development.
    • Wednesday: 0 words.
    • Thursday: 0 words.
    • Friday: 145 words toward plot points.
    • Saturday: 631 words of new wordage.

    So while I didn’t write every day this week I exceeded the overall words (1750) for the week.

  2. As you can see from above, I’ve been working on characters. Marcy Kennedy wrote a wonderful post about characters who don’t match stereotypical qualities and included a link to Rob Preece’s guest post Women are from Venus, Men are annoying. LOL, a great male POV post! I’m firmly in the John Gray camp of Men Are from Mars, Women Are from Venus: The Classic Guide to Understanding the Opposite Sex so it’s nice seeing it applied to crafting characters. And if that isn’t enough character deliciousness, Roni Loren also posted about writing the male POV. Is it any wonder my hero has been taking up all my time? And he hasn’t even told me his name yet!
  3. The Reading: Check. I finished The Plot Thickens: 8 Ways to Bring Fiction to Life and read two fiction stories. Now to decide which craft book to start next.
  4. The Blogging: Check. Maintaining about a two week cushion on posts and met my comment goals for the week.
  5. The Social Media: I did well with the sharing this week. However, I don’t think I met my updating goal and, sadly, didn’t meet the conversation goal.
  6. August McLaughlin has more great info on Pinterest and blogging.
  7. The Health: Managed 4 glasses of water per day all days this week but Saturday. No dog walking. Bad fur-baby parent, bad. Sugar reduction is going well. I didn’t even cave with all the Easter stuff in the house…go me :)

    Beastie Girl

  8. And speaking of health, Jenny Hansen reminds us women of medical tests we should have done. When was your last visit to the doctor?
  9. Fur baby loving. (This is my phone wallpaper…we girls have to stick together!) Amy Shojai talked about why NOT to hug your dog today. (Edit: link fixed)
  10. To support the awesomeness that is ROW80 you can go HERE
29 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marcy Kennedy
    Apr 15, 2012 @ 05:58:46

    Thanks for linking to my post :) I smiled when I saw that your male character hasn’t told you his name yet. I have the worst time with character names and finding the one that feels right.

    Reply

    • Raelyn Barclay
      Apr 15, 2012 @ 08:02:23

      The guys are ususally pretty forthcoming with at least their first names or a nick name. It’s usually the heroines that give me grief, LOL. But titles, those are the worst!

      Thanks for stopping by Marcy!

      Reply

  2. Karen Rought
    Apr 15, 2012 @ 09:43:56

    Your dog is so darn ADORABLE. The link to the hug your dog post isn’t working – I’d really love to check it out if you get a chance to fix it!

    Reply

    • Raelyn Barclay
      Apr 15, 2012 @ 12:00:02

      Thanks for pointing out the link problem…fixed it. She looks like such a bobble head doll in that picture, LOL, it puts a smile on my face.

      Thanks for stopping by Karen!

      Reply

  3. Nadja Notariani
    Apr 15, 2012 @ 09:46:34

    I cannot wait to check out your links on the male POV. Maybe I’ll feature them too.
    As for tests we should have… I’m off that bandwagon. Truly I am. I don’t want any tests! I hate the doctor – it may be my worst nightmare (unreasonable, I know…but none-the-less true). If I have an infection, give me antibiotic. If I need surgery – okay – I’ll get it if the other option sounds worse. But as for all that poking and prodding, looking for something that MAY be wrong ….not for me. I’ll pass.

    My husband is a nurse, and my avoidance tendencies drive him crazy! But I cannot help it. I refuse to go to the doctor unless I fear for my life. Lol.

    Reply

  4. alberta
    Apr 15, 2012 @ 09:52:54

    sounds like a good week – enjoyed your links, I struggle with men’s names for writing more choice in the females:) think I am getting the hang of their thought patterns it is trying to make the language harder edged thats difficult for me but hope am getting there – he will tell you his name eventually but he prob. thinks its not that important at this stage of the relationship – you know what guys are like:)

    Reply

  5. Gene Lempp
    Apr 15, 2012 @ 10:04:02

    Doing great on your goals, Raelyn. Keep it up and here’s hoping the shiny continues to whisper words in your ear :)

    Reply

  6. deniz
    Apr 15, 2012 @ 10:31:04

    Sounds like you’ve been doing great. And those cards look gorgeous! I feel like such a fool – when I was scheduling A-Z posts, I forgot to slip in ROW80 updates! Ah well, the editing’s going rather slowly…

    Reply

  7. Lauralynn Elliott
    Apr 15, 2012 @ 12:09:58

    Great progress, Raelyn! Good luck with your shiny! :)

    What an adorable face on your dog. I just love animals.

    Reply

  8. Lena Corazon (@LenaCorazon)
    Apr 15, 2012 @ 12:55:57

    Yay, congrats on exceeding the word count for the week! I’ve been meaning to read the posts that you’ve linked (I’m behind in my blog visiting this week), so thanks for the reminder. :D

    Reply

  9. Barbara McDowell
    Apr 15, 2012 @ 15:08:39

    Great progress, Raelyn! And I love Beastie Girl. I bet she’s a great writing helper. Have a good week!

    Reply

  10. Angela Brown
    Apr 15, 2012 @ 17:03:33

    So much wonderful progress being made. Keep it up!!!!

    Reply

  11. Juliana Haygert (@Juliana_Haygert)
    Apr 15, 2012 @ 18:00:07

    Woot for doing great! And thanks for the awesome links ;)
    Have a great week!

    Reply

  12. Jenny Hansen
    Apr 15, 2012 @ 22:18:31

    Oh my goodness! Links galore, a giveaway and a fab ROW80 update!! It’s amazing over here. :-)

    Reply

    • Raelyn Barclay
      Apr 16, 2012 @ 07:06:59

      I kinda fell into adding links to the ROW80 updates last round and it seems to have stuck, LOL. Giveaways, lots of giveaways this month :)

      Thanks for stopping by Jenny!

      Reply

  13. amyshojai
    Apr 16, 2012 @ 06:50:11

    Thanks for the mention!

    Reply

    • Raelyn Barclay
      Apr 16, 2012 @ 07:09:05

      It’s an important message, that happily taught That Man something, yay. Of course, there is a reason I’m the alpha in our family, at least as far as Beastie Girl is concerned ;)

      Thanks for stopping by Amy!

      Reply

  14. Maria Zannini
    Apr 16, 2012 @ 16:28:58

    WP is playing footsies with me again. :(

    Just want to send a virtual smooch to Beastie Girl. Every time I see her picture, I remember the day you got her. She lucked into the best family.

    Reply

    • Raelyn Barclay
      Apr 17, 2012 @ 06:19:14

      I knew you couldn’t resist commenting on a post with Beastie Girl :D We just got back from our walk and she imitating a bear rug in the middle of the kitchen floor, LOL

      Sorry WP is being such a bugger to you. I’m glad you pressed through and stopped by Maria!

      Reply

  15. Nicole
    Apr 19, 2012 @ 09:10:14

    Lovely cards!

    Also, good for you on the blogging cushion! I need to get back on that…

    Reply

A penny for your thoughts

April 2012
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Archives

