Tags

, , , , , ,

I’ve been pondering that a lot lately.

It’s one thing to look in the mirror and tell myself I’m a writer yet another to actually give myself the title “author.”  I’m not published.  I haven’t even shared my WIP with anyone and am fully aware that I have a long, long way to go on this journey.

I recently read a couple posts on this writing life I’ve decided to pursue.

The first, The Type of Author I Want to Be by Deborah Burns discusses the random acts of kindness she’d like to show.

  • Holds the door for people.

I love that visual.  Lending a helping hand whenever you’re able is good karma.  I’m not in a position to offer advice, I’m still very much learning, but I can support others by listening to what they have to say and sharing their insight.

  • Picks up whatever a person drops and hands it back.

I’ve been that harried mother with my hands full.  This falls under the karma of “do on to others as you’d have done on to you.”  The Internet is a strange place.  We develop relationships with people we’ll likely never meet in real life and sometimes we forget that golden rule.  If I wouldn’t say it to your face, I won’t say it.

  • Remember my roots.

I’m blessed with one of the craziest and most supportive families on the planet.  What this point says to me is not to forget the other areas of my life.

In the end I can only try to be true to myself and hope that shines through.

The second, 4 Ways to Avoid the Pitfalls of a Writer’s Solitude by KM Weiland reminds us writer-types to live a broad life.

  • Schedule your writing time.

This is so important, especially when you also happen to be a writing MOM.  How does that fit with the kind of writer I want to be?  Simple, I want to remember to keep my family in the forefront.

  • Reach out to the writing community.

This comes back around to Deborah Burns‘ first and second points.  I hope to pay it forward, give newcomers the same chances I’m being given.

  • Seek out non-writing jobs and hobbies.

Traditionally, one of my hobbies overwhelms the others to the point of distraction.  Now that I’ve moved the writing from hobby to career, I’m finding the non-writing hobbies all the more important.  But having the hobbies isn’t enough, scheduling the time to partake in them is just as important.

  • Connect with readers.

They will keep you humble; after all, readers can make or break an author.  As a reader, I know how much I enjoy hearing from my favorite authors and I want to extend the same.

What resonated with me from KM Weiland‘s post is balance.

It’s quite the juggling act.  How do you maintain balance between the different areas of your life?

