Tags

, , , , , ,

That is the question according to good ol’ Shakespeare.

Ancient Barclay Hunting Tartan

I’m very proud of my Scottish ancestry.  (Yes, I can claim Barclay.)  I like saying I’m three-quarters Scottish and one-quarter Welsh, just to keep things interesting, and I have the family tree to prove it.  I love my tartans, all three clans.  The Barclay hunter tartan is a beautiful and subtle mix of blues and greens, which is appropriate when you consider a hunter needing to hide amongst the heather and broom of the Scottish moors.  I wish I spoke with a Scottish brogue or could at least fake a decent one.  That Man is worried I’ll never come home if I ever set foot upon Scottish soil — he’s probably right to worry about that.

Barclay Dress Tartan

Alter Ego.  Pen Name.

Nom de Plume.

Pseudonym.  Alias.

Yep, Raelyn Barclay is all of those.

(Yeah, I don’t know what they were thinking with those bumblebee colors either, LOL)

I got amazing advice from Joely Sue Burkhart, Maria Zannini, and Kait Nolan, friends and mentors.  After a lengthy game of Pros and Cons, I decided Raelyn Barclay would be born.  I’m a long way from publishing that first story.  However, donning Raelyn Barclay has made me serious about this writing dream in a way I haven’t been before.  I feel my writing has become a career instead of a hobby.

There are a lot of blog posts on the subject and whether an author should write under an assumed name.  Most seem to advise sticking with your own name.  The mentality that a pen name offers the author privacy is old school in this fast paced, online world.  On the other hand, authors often take a different name for a new genre.

Modern Barclay Hunting Tartan

Writers:  Do you think the old adage of different pen names for different genres still holds true?

Readers:  If you are following an author, would you prefer they stick to one name?  Or is branding different names important so you know what you’re getting when you see a certain name?

