Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I’m interrupting the Tarot series — life got in the way this last week so I didn’t get around to doing the next spread — but never fear, it will return next Thursday.

Dug from the movie UP

Six weeks ago I posted Staying on Task…SQUIRREL! about my attempt to find a schedule that worked. If you’ll remember, I posted this schedule:

  1. Walking and/or D&E Writing (new wordage)
  2. [30]Professional: Check E-mail, Social Media, and Blog Comments (on my blog not following up on others)
  3. [60]General Cleaning and Laundry
  4. Professional: Google Reader and Commenting (Twitter for re-tweets only)
  5. ___
  6. ___
  7. [15]Personal: Check E-mail, Facebook, and Blog Comments (on my blog not following up on others)
  8. ___
  9. Personal: Google Reader and Commenting
  10. ___
  11. Professional: Research, Write, and/or Schedule Blog Post
  12. [30]Professional: Check E-mail, Social Media, and Blog Comments
  13. [30]Zone Cleaning, Re-boot Laundry (put in dryer), and Hot Spot Cleaning
  14. ___
  15. ___
  16. Personal: Research, Write, and/or Schedule Blog Post
  17. [15]Personal: Check E-mail, Facebook, and Blog Comments
  18. ___
  19. ___
  20. ___
  21. ___
  22. [30]Professional: Check E-mail, Social Media, and Blog Comments
  23. END DAY WITH SOMETHING FUN!

It takes about three weeks to develop a habit…I’ve had six. How did I do?

Well, I’ve been good about the Dark & Early for walking. The new dog has helped immensely with getting this done, no room for the “I’m too tired this morning” excuse. Currently, I’m working on revisions which I’ve learned through trail and error isn’t something I can work on D&E, so the writing aspect of #1 has not come into play yet.

#2 and #4 (as well as #7 and #9) have merged into one often lasting much longer than the allotted time. I’m not calling it a fail but it’s not a success either. Sadly I’ve not been as active in the commenting part #4 and #9 as I’d like but I’ve learned this is the area that suffers when I’m short on time.

#3 is a success but I kinda stacked the deck in my favor with that one.

#13 is mostly a success but like #3 I kinda stacked the deck with it as it has been a part of my routine for a while.

#11 and #16 have mostly been a success…posts continue to be posted…but the daily dedication to it is perhaps more 50/50. (Heck, this post is proof.)

All those blank spots were for the write-ins that came up on a daily basis. Overall, I’d say this schedule has been a success. However, with the addition of the dog and the advent of summer break starting today, I see a real need to revise this schedule.

Sigh. It’s almost like starting from scratch.

Any writerly tips and tricks?

