Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Now look what you did!” Said the fish to the cat. “Now look at this house! Look at this! Look at that! You sank our toy ship, Sank it deep in the cake. You shook up our house And you bent our new rake. You SHOULD NOT be here When our mother is not. You get out of this house!” Said the fish in the pot.

LOL, not that I’ve been away but the house is feeling like the Cat himself has been here all week. Of course the Cat brought along not just one set of Thing 1 and Thing 2 but TWO SETS.

Writing when all the wee beasties are home is a trial on the best of days. Red-heads and sun don’t mix thus summer here in the desert is extra challenging. Additionally, with the heat everyone has been inside more than usual. It certainly is the perfect time to experiment with finding my balance between home-life and writer-life (not to mention fitting in social media) while my taxi demands are minimal.

So far this month–

Home: 6

Writer: 1

Sigh. Failing at that balance thing.

Last week, Jenny Hansen had an awesome post Is Your Blog Eating You Alive? where she talked about why we blog. All excellent and important pieces of the puzzle but as I continue working toward that balance what I was most interested in was the “dreaded time dilemma.” None of us have enough time to do all that we want to do. Where’s that magic wand anyway? But if you want something bad enough you make the time.

I do make the time for the writing.

While my first reader has the last WiP I’m moving on to the next. My focus for July is a fantasy piece I’d set aside earlier this year (remember Gaea from Tarot: Character Circle?) and working on the pre-writing process of developing characters, world building, etc. I’m hoping to be Kicking Out a Fast First Draft in August.

Where I struggle is keeping up with all the blogs I read (and commenting), and being more than a blip on social media sites. Go ahead hit me with a wet noodle ๐Ÿ™‚ I’d love to hear your tips.

