Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Let’s talk books!

This is my version of Lynn Viehl’s 3 Books feature.

Just Read

The Devil To Pay (Second Chances) by Maria Zannini, E-Book

Why I picked it up: Maria sent this to me though I would have bought it anyway as Maria is a go-to author for me.

What I liked: I love Maria’s voice. I enjoy her world building and character development. She has a way of making each word count. This story has two delicious heroes (even if they perhaps don’t see themselves that way), an imp, and a lost soul, and the potential for a love triangle…quadruple? Quadruplet? (I’ve mentioned I’m a sucker for a menage before, right?)

What I disliked: It was too short, LOL. I was a little disappointed in the ending but I know this is the set-up for a series and trust the author to deliver the goods.

Reading

Are You There Blog? It’s Me, Writer by Kristen Lamb, E-Book

Why I picked it up:I’m still trying to find my groove and trust Kristen to deliver the facts with a good dose of humor.

What I like: It’s delivering exactly what I expected.

What I dislike: The first half feels like a rehash of her first book We Are Not Alone: The Writer’s Guide to Social Media. It’s all awesome information, and if you haven’t read the first book this one will give you a good overview, but having read the first book fairly recently I’m left with a bit of an overload.

Will Read

The Spiritualist: A Novel by Megan Chance, Paperback

Why I picked this up: This was a recommended read from Alison Kent and experience tells me I can expect to enjoy what she recommends.

What I expect to like: In Alison’s words:

To be blunt, there are not a lot of authors who do this for me, but Megan Chance is one. She’s one I wish wrote faster, so I could selfishly gobble up more of her books, but instead I anxiously await word of new works because I know the time it takes her is the reason her books sweep me away. I finished this one on Sunday and am still caught up in the world of Evie and Michel and 1856 New York. That is Megan’s skill.

What I expect to dislike: The historical aspect worries me a wee bit. I used to read historical fiction till it oozed out of my pores and I think I overcompensated by going in a completely different direction.

What are you reading and loving at the moment?

