Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One reason I read (and write) romance is that no matter what the couple go through I’m guaranteed a happily-ever-after (or at least a happily-right-now).

  • Love at first sight.

I’d like to think it possible though I’m not sure I believe in it. The thought is toe-curling romantic to me. Now, lust at first sight. Oh yeah.

  • Soul-mates.

Again, I’d like to think it possible. That someone out there completes you, connecting with you on all levels. Romantic sigh.

  • A second chance at love.

That I believe in. That I live.

Claddagh: Let Love and Friendhsip Reign Forever

Fifteen — well, fifteen and a half — years ago, That Man proposed to me, standing in the kitchen of our first home on the day we received the keys. Our romance has had the ups and downs, and times when the conflict seemed overwhelming, you’d expect from a romance novel. And I’m still crazy in love with him.

Last week I mentioned Samhain as part of my Sunday Summary which is considered the Celtic New Year. Out with the old, in with the new. Could there be a better time to embark on a new life together? This month marks fourteen years. Happy anniversary honey!

For me, romance is in the little things; a touch, a look, a whisper. Butterflies from a shared look. I’m a chocoholic, is it any wonder that I get lost in My Guy’s dark chocolate colored eyes? Contentment in resting your head on his chest, right over his heart with its reassuring beat. A sense of coming home when your special someone embraces you. Then there’s the cadence of his voice. It is the sweetest music to my ears. And how about the spark that tickles across your skin when you touch after an absence.

Yesterday, Natalie Hartford talked about Marking Special Anniversaries. November is a great month for anniversaries 🙂 As I said in my comment on her post, My Guy and I celebrate the “just because” days more than the big dates. But in the end…

Romance is all about being mindful of how lucky you are to have found each other.

Romance is about falling in love a little bit more each day. A cute take on that is the movie 50 First Dates with Drew Berrymore and Adam Sandler. For those of you who haven’t seen it, Sandler’s character needs to get Berrymore’s character, who suffers from short-term memory loss, to fall in love with him each day. Is there anything more romantic than your special someone making you fall in love with them all over again?

What does Romance mean to you? Do you and your honey celebrate the Hallmark days or the “just because” days?

*For more on the ring and the hidden meanings on how to wear it check out the Claddagh Story.

