Tags

, , ,

As anyone with a muscular dog knows you have to keep them well exercised to avoid destructive behavior. My walks with Roxy are not enough for her. At some point, I hope to be able to run her while bike riding. The boys playing fetch in the back yard is not enough. She isn’t destructive, thankfully, but we knew we needed something more.

Awhile ago we saw this woman playing fetch with her Doberman at the dog park. She had some contraption that allowed her to throw that ball amazing distances. The Doberman was exhausted after 15-20 minutes. We didn’t connect up with her to find out what the thing was but a search for it ensued. We learned what we were after was the Chuckit! Ball Launcher. But then had a time finding it in stock anywhere, LOL.

Santa Paws gave Beastie Girl one for Christmas. Because I haven’t gotten her to the point of being off lead trained we needed to test this miracle of dog fun in a controlled environment. Enter our neighborhood park. Not a huge area but mostly enclosed. I stationed two of the wee beasties at each entrance just in case Roxy decided to take off.

OMG SO MUCH FUN.

I wish I’d thought to take the camera. Watching her run flat out was awe inspiring. Exercising her to the point she wanted to quit the game before I did was a first.

And I’m on a mission to get her completely off lead trained so we can play like this more often. The only completely off lead trained dog I’ve had was a retired police dog trained long before he joined our family. So you dog owners out there, any tips or tricks?

