Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Hope everyone had a happy and safe holiday!



Unlike our neighbors —>>>







<<<—we stuck with the legal stuff.



Happily, the rain we had early in the day cleared up in time for some firework fun.



Operation ‘Step Back’ is in full swing.

On the writing front, all that happened this week was some Morning Pages per The Artist’s Way by Julia Cameron. But rather than hand write them, I started a draft in Scrivener. Love it. I just open a new text file each morning, date it, and type to my heart’s content. Well, actually, I write for 20 to 30 minutes however much that ends up as. Which means I’m calling my goal of writing for 30 minutes every day a WIN for this week. If nothing else, it’s a great way to work up my to-do list for the day, LOL.

Speaking of Scrivener, Gwen Hernandez is offering a class on September 10th (one for Mac and one for Windows). I’m planning to take it. I feel pretty comfortable in the program but know I’m not using all the features to their fullest. By the way, she’s done a Scrivener For Dummies book, too.

Coming up later this month, I’ll be over at Maria Zannini’s Back to Basics blog. I’ll post the details when it’s closer. She also has a meet and greet contest going on you won’t want to miss.

On the reading front, I got sucked into another book this weekend, Timepiece by Heather Albano. It’s steampunk. It’s historical. It’s time-travel. It’s the hint of a romance. It’s action-adventure. It’s good! And the next step in the journey is slated for sometime this summer. Yes, there was a bit of foot stomping because the minute I finished Timepiece I wanted to be able to pick up Timekeeper. So, here’s a mini for y’all.


Why I picked it up: That cover. Seriously. I saw that and had to find out more.

What I liked: I thoroughly enjoyed the world Albano created. The characters were well-rounded, if a bit caught in the conventions of their lives…at least at first πŸ™‚ She keeps the story moving forward at a nice pace and maintains great tension. I definitely enjoyed Albano’s voice. The story wraps up and we’re left with an ‘oh-no’ moment to lead into the next book…not a cliffhanger per sae but definitely a hook.

What I disliked: There were some editing errors, like eyes elsewhere than the head of the person. There were some typos, like repeated words/phrases. And there was at least one POV goof. Outside of the POV, minor problems overall and didn’t take away from my enjoyment.

This coming week is That Man’s vacation. Squee! We’re sticking close to home and focusing on activities we’ve wanted to do since moving here but haven’t for whatever reason.

Wishing y’all a fabulous day!

