Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Let’s talk books!

Just Read



Senator, Mine and Druid, Mine by Kerry Adrienne

Why I picked it up: Louisa Bacio featured Senator, Mine back in April and it tickled my fancy. Then she featured Druid, Mine in June — Hello! Lover of all things Celtic here. — and I won a copy. I understand there’s a third one,ย Pharaoh, Mine, due out later this year.

Note: I’m doing both together as they are short, only 40 or so pages, and I read them in one sitting.

What I liked: Ms. Adrienne did a nice bit of research and wove the info in without burdening the stories. Both involve magical time-travel, one of my favorite sub-genres. The heroes were delicious. The heroines took charge of their lives by signing up for a single night of passion. These books are part of a series called 1 Night Stand but stand alone.

What I disliked: Quite frankly, the pricing. I’m all for authors getting paid, don’t get me wrong. However, I still use a 100K paperback as my pricing guideline so forking out almost half the dollars for approximately 10% of that 100K doesn’t sit well.

Reading


The Bloodgate Warrior (The Bloodgate Series) by Joely Sue Burkhart

Why I picked it up: Joely is a must read for me, I devour everything she writes. This is the second in the Mayan Bloodgate world she created. The first is The Bloodgate Guardian and reading it will enrich the reading of Bloodgate Warrior but both stand alone. She’s also just re-released a free prequel Bloodgate.

What I like: The amazing character depth Joely brings to each and every story. The tantalizing sex, the exploration of BDSM, blood ritual, heroes finding pleasure in giving pleasure, heroines strong enough to ask for what they want (even if it embarrasses them) and not settling for less.

I love this world. The Mayan details are well researched and seamlessly woven into the story. Each element of the story moves you forward, pushing toward the scene that (as an insider I know) inspired this story. And we’re left with a nice tease for a possible third book.

What I dislike: I wish it was longer, because I devoured it in a single afternoon, but I respect Joely for staying true to the story.

Will Read


Spider’s Bite by Jennifer Estep

Why I picked this up: I’ve been following Jennifer Estep’s blog for awhile now, thoroughly enjoy her reviews. This has been one of those books I’ve been meaning to pick up for ages so when I needed one more book to qualify for free shipping I snagged it off the ol’ wish list.

What I expect to like: The elemental aspect of this book/series. If you’ve read any of my tarot posts you know I’m drawn to the elements. With an opening line of, “My name is Gin, and I kill people,” well, I expect to enjoy Estep’s voice.

What I expect to dislike: I can’t think of anything at this point. This will be my first foray into Estep’s fiction.

The seventh book, Widow’s Web, in this Elemental Assassin series (of a contracted ten) is due out later this month. I’d better get crackin’!

What are you reading and loving at the moment?

