, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

What I See:

I’m drawn to the pretty blue of the robin’s eggs. I get the sense of the circle of life, the four seasons, the four directions. The four eggs are resting safely in the nest, built high and away from predators. I think of what a mother does to keep her children safe and the feeling of “there’s no place like home.” The nest itself is an intricate weave of bits gathered here, pieces saved there, which makes me think of using what we have. It’s a welcoming little hideaway and that gives way to thoughts of a retreat, or time of respite.

General Air element/Sword suit:

Please refer back to the Ace of Air.

Light (upright) Reading:

Take time to dream and clear your mind.

  • Keywords: Recuperation, Introspection, Healing, or Meditation.

Shadow (upside down or reverse) Reading:

You are unable to take time for yourself due to worry or responsibilities.

  • Keywords: Isolation, Discontent, Banishment, or Detention.


Like many of these cards, nature is prominent and stories of conservation spring to mind. Four eggs, four seasons, four directions, perhaps a circle of life story. Perhaps the four realms: spiritual, emotional, intellectual, and physical? The nest looks like a basket, perhaps basket weaving features in your story. Perhaps the ribbons and string carefully woven in the nest prompt the weaving of a story thread. Or maybe you see a seamstress in those ribbons and string?

Mystic journeys are often assigned to the Four of Swords. Perhaps because the traditional depiction of this card shows a knight asleep. Maybe your story focuses on an out-of-body experience? Or how about the dream plane? Yet the knight also looks to be laying in a crypt, so perhaps a life after death story. Or maybe being trapped in a crypt? Maybe the knight is a guardian?

Typically, this card represents a respite, or the brief recuperation following an illness. Perhaps your story is based on a caregiver, or a respite caregiver. Maybe a nurse or doctor or hospice worker. Or even a patient.

  • Four Themes: Sacred Space, Structure, Boundaries, Limits, Foundation, or Stewardship.

Or maybe those aren’t robin’s eggs…


Protecting your sacred space with firm boundaries.

  • Suit Archetype/Feudal Class: Nobility, Warrior, and Political class.

Additionally, look up one of the Air signs (Gemini, Libra, Aquarius) for personality traits.

For more information on the Fours in general, please refer back to the Four of Earth.

Image: Gaian Tarot by Joanna Powell Colbert from Llewellyn Worldwide