Tags

, , , , , , ,

I wasn’t going to post today…it has been one of those weekends.

A few weeks ago I received the email I had both been expecting and dreading. Hospice had been called in for my second father, Daddy Dennis.

Dennis has always been a man of quiet strength, his faith as intricate to him as breathing, and someone people would describe as a non-fighter. He often stood as the peacemaker when our families shared a home.

He’s the man who had an entire dinner party laughing to the point of tears over a simple family meal that will forever be known as “Giggle Charlie” — I have no idea what we called the dish prior to that night. For dessert, he served us tissue to wipe our eyes.

He’s the man who taught me to drive a stick shift.

He’s the man I could go to no matter what and trust he’d listen without fixing.

He very literary took me from crayons to perfume…

Friday, Hospice informed the family Dennis likely wouldn’t make it through the night.

This Lulu song has been playing in my head ever since.

How do you say good-bye?

For me, I was unable to. Dennis wasn’t able to take phone calls. Yet he surprised everyone and made it through the night.

This morning, I woke to the news he passed last night.

Rest in Peace Dennis. I love you and you will be missed.

