, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

What I See:

The first thing I notice is that there is no obvious five here. According to the book there are twisted faces in the smoke and fire…I’ll see one, then think I’m imagining it. Perhaps the point. And perhaps there are five. The next thing I’m stuck by is the single man, the fire breather. Either he’s incredibly brave or he’s an adrenaline junkie, LOL. I think of showboating, needing to be the center of attention, dominance, and anger.

Jenny Hansen recently had a post on dealing with anger in which she talks about anger coming from hurt and fear. The book even says, “Rage and anger are often masks for that which we fear.” I see that here. I think of short fuses.

General Fire element/Wands suit:

Please refer back to the Ace of Fire

Light (upright) Reading:

You’re playing with powerful and exciting fire, but beware it can be lethal.

  • Keywords: Competition, Brainstorming, Male Bonding, or Sport.

Shadow (upside down or reverse) Reading:

You may be dealing with burnout, allow the fire to inspire a transformation.

  • Keywords: Sabotage, Stunted Creativity, Conflicts, or Ego Clashes.


Perhaps your story focuses on a performer. A circus act or, pardon the term, a freak show act? Perhaps your MC likes living on the edge. Maybe a Native American Fire Ceremony or a Celtic Fire Feast?

There’s a sense of chaos in the flames, perhaps the organized chaos of war. Or a sporting event? Maybe focus on the excitement of danger.

  • Five Themes: Challenge, Crisis, Conflict, Instability, or Change.

If we look at the number, you can focus on the five senses (sight, sound, touch, taste, and smell)? I bet if you put yourself in the fire breather’s audience you can write all five. Or perhaps the elements (fire, water, air, and earth) bound by a high guidance of spirit?


“We can let the circumstances of our lives harden us so that we become increasingly resentful and afraid, or we can let them soften us and make us kinder. We always have the choice. ~Dalai Lama

  • Suit Archetype/Feudal Class: Peasant or Servant Class.

Additionally, look up one of the Fire signs (Aries, Leo, Sagittarius) for personality traits.

For more information on the Five in general, please refer back to the Five of Air.

Image: Gaian Tarot by Joanna Powell Colbert from Llewellyn Worldwide