Tags

, , , , , , ,

Today, I am up in Oregon.

This afternoon will be Dennis’ memorial service.

I spent a good part of Thursday this week looking for a picture. Sadly, I couldn’t lay my hands on it. It was a picture of my dad and Dennis, side by side, leaning against the railing at my parents’ house with their backs to the camera.

I’ve seen them stand this way too many times to count.

They aren’t talking in the picture. And as the date of the service neared, I found myself thinking about this picture more and more. Why? Because Dad and Dennis were best friends. A friendship that spanned 47 years.

That picture speaks to me of the strength of friendship. The quiet you share with a best friend. It also makes my think of my own BFF. We’re well on our way to a similar life-long friendship.

“A friend is someone who knows the song in your heart and can sing it back to you when you have forgotten the words.” ~ unknown

I’ve known BFF since seventh grade but it wasn’t until high school that our friendship developed. We’ve been friends for 30 years and counting.

How long have you known your BFF? Is there a quote that sums up your friendship?

