Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Let’s talk books!

Just Read

Hot Secrets (Tall, Dark, and Deadly) (first in the Walker Brothers trilogy) by Lisa Renee Jones

Why I picked it up: I saw this offered for free, probably on Facebook, and it sounded interesting enough to pick up. (Book 2: Dangerous Secrets & Book 3: Beneath the Secrets is due out soon)

What I liked: I enjoyed the characters and world. Jones did a good job keeping me guessing who the bad guy was though I wasn’t completely surprised at the reveal. I was able to suspend belief and go with the love story. If the free price tag was an incentive to buy the other two books, the story succeeded.

What I disliked: Format errors. Sigh. But that’s the price of e-books. There were also a few editing errors that made me grit my teeth but weren’t big enough to pull me from the story.

Reading

Daughter of Time: A Time Travel Romance (The After Cilmeri Series) Sarah Woodbury

Why I picked it up: Free is always a good word. However, what happened is that BFF and I were talking about time-travel romance stories which made me realize it had been awhile since I read a new one. Thus started a search for a new, to me, author. I happened upon this one.

What I like: Llywelyn. Seriously, I’ve always been fascinated by this medieval Welsh ruler. I enjoyed the time-travel ride and the dynamic between a modern-day woman and Llywelyn. I haven’t noticed any glaring historical oops either which tells me Woodbury did her research and wove it into her tale well. I’ll definitely be picking up the rest of this series.

What I dislike: This is a bit of a spoiler…the heroine is just out of an abusive marriage when she gets sucked back in time. To medieval Wales no less. Abuse was common place from all accounts I’ve read, yet the heroine rarely seems worried she’ll fall into the same predicament. And, as someone pointed out to me in my own writing, the Welsh the heroine understands from her Welsh born mother would not be the Welsh Llywelyn spoke. Not even the French they converse in. But I’ll go with it for the sake of the story 🙂

This is actually the prequel to the After Cilmeri series, here are links to the rest:

Will Read

Kushiel’s Dart (the first book in the Kushiel’s Legacy series) by Jacqueline Carey

Why I picked this up: This author was brought to my attention during Coyote Con, perhaps even this particular series, and I was able to get the first three books at a second-hand store. Score. (Book 2: Kushiel’s Chosen & Book 3: Kushiel’s Avatar)

What I expect to like: These are deliciously thick books, 600-900 page paperbacks, so I expect an epic tale. I also expect I’ll be reading these awhile, LOL.

What I expect to dislike: This is a completely new author for me so I have no idea at this point, unless the length of these books ends up working against the story.

What are you reading and loving at the moment?

