Tags

, , , , , ,

That Man’s idea of a vegetarian dinner is an artichoke and half a jar of mayo, LOL.

I do, however, try to feed the family a vegetarian meal at least once in awhile. Some days I’m more successful than others.

Last night was easy vegetarian. That Man got his artichoke, I got my eggplant, and the wee beasties got their salad.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAEggplant first. This recipe is called Old Mission Eggplant. One eggplant, washed and cut into 1/4 inch slices. Brown both sides of the eggplant slices in butter and place a single layer in a casserole dish. Pour a cup of 1/2 and 1/2 cream over top. Salt and pepper to taste. Sprinkle with paprika (I used nutmeg this time and I think I like it better) and top with nuts of your choice (pecan, almond, walnut, etc.). Bake in a 300 degree oven for an hour.

I will say, this was not enough for my family of six, and this was a pretty decent size eggplant netting me 14 slices. As a side dish, 2-3 slices per person is fine. As a main dish, That Man and I could have polished off half the dish each.

Wee Beastie Rating:

😈 😈 😈

Artichoke next. Fill stock pan, or Dutch oven sized pan, 2/3 full of lightly salted water with a splash of lemon juice per artichoke and set it to boiling. While waiting for the water to boil, prepare the artichokes by cutting off the top 1/2 inch of leaves, then use scissors to cut off the thorns on each of the remaining leaves. I also like to trim the stem to about an inch as it allows more artichokes in the pot without crowding. Add to the pot stem side down. Depending on the size of your artichokes they can take anywhere from 20 to 40 minutes to cook through. Test with a fork.

Serve with garlic butter, mayo, ranch dressing, or whatever tickles your fancy.

Wee Beastie Rating:

😈 😈 😈 😈

I like to serve a simple Romaine lettuce salad, with sliced red onion rings and Mandarin oranges tossed with Green Goddess dressing, along side this eggplant dish.

Wee Beastie Rating:

😈 😈 😈 😈

Yum.

Do you ever go meatless at home? Have a favorite vegetarian dish to share?

