, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Siete chakrasChakras.

With my yoga experience, minimal though it is, I’ve picked up a rudimentary knowledge of chakras. And I’ve been thinking about them this last week, quite a lot. (Perhaps due to the stress That Man and I have been under, which is resolving. We’re in a much better place than we were on Sunday).

The idea of chakras feels reminiscent to the idea of humors. Balance and imbalance. Hmm…that goes back to my word for the year. Maybe it isn’t so odd I’ve been dwelling on this.

There are seven main chakras.

Starting from the bottom and working your way up the spine, you have:

  1. Root, located at the base of the spine, Red, Earth, grounding and survival.
  2. Sacral, located just below the belly button, Orange, Water, sexuality and relationships.
  3. Solar Plexus, located just above the belly button, Yellow, Fire, personal power.
  4. Heart, located at the center of the chest, Green, Air, emotional zone and the masculine/feminine of self.
  5. Throat, located in the hollow of the throat, Blue, truth and willpower.
  6. Third Eye, located between the eyebrows, Indigo, intuition.
  7. Crown, located at the top of the head, Violet, divine consciousness.

Bet you don’t look at a rainbow the same again, LOL.

As you can see, the lovely elements we’re used to seeing with the tarot are present. And, of course, there are tarot cards associated with the chakras.

Root: The Emperor, The Devil, and The World
Sacral: The High Priestess, and The Empress
Solar Plexus: he Chariot, The Tower, and The Sun
Heart: The Lovers, Justice, Strength, and Temperance
Throat: The Magician, The Hierophant, and The Wheel of Fortune
Third Eye: The Moon, The High Priestess, and The Hermit
Crown: The Hanged Man, The Star, The Fool, and Judgment

The simplest way to use the tarot with the chakras is with a spread. However, this kind of spread is very personal, and potentially controversial, so I’m not going to post an example.

The easiest way is lay out a straight line. Focus on each chakra individually and draw one card per chakra. Each card reflects the main issue at the moment for that chakra.

If the card is upright, the chakra is open, balance. If the card is reversed, or upside down, the chakra is weak or closed, imbalance. By looking at a card’s keywords, you have a road map to fixing the chakra — focus the card’s ‘energy’ and work with it to turn the card right side up again.

What do you think, do chakras fit into your life?

You might also like:

Chakras, Tarot Majors, and Archangels — if you click on each chakra, you’ll get detailed correspondences as well as positive and negative attributes.
Seven Chakra Spread — from the Aeclectic Tarot Forum.
Chakra Spread — this is a more detailed tarot spread involving the chakras, also from Aeclectic.