, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

What I See:

Gaian-Tarot-Ten-AirLooking at this sets my feet moving. I think of traveling and vacations. I think of my bucket list. There is a sense of continuing cycle in that Canada geese fly south each winter and return each spring. Yet there is also a feeling of change, of starting a new chapter in the book of our life.

We have a sense of sunset here, too. A transitioning from the bright light of day to the dark of night.

Many beliefs speak of birds carrying the souls of the dead. In fact, this card reminds me of the Wild Hunt tales I grow up on.

General Air element/Sword suit:

Please refer back to the Ace of Air.

Light (upright) Reading:

It may be bittersweet but it is time to let go.

  • Keywords: New Beginnings, Rebirth, Liberation, or Silver-Lining.

Shadow (upside down or reverse) Reading:

Beware of resisting progress.

  • Keywords: Failure, Hitting Rock-Bottom, Affliction, or Back-Stabbing.


A retelling of the Wild Hunt myths (and there are many). A hunter? A fire festival? A New Year (whether a calendar date or a seasonal one) celebration? A solstice? All Hollow’s Eve?

Perhaps your story is paranormal and that transition from day to night plays a key role. Is that a storm moving in? Perhaps the birds are fleeing.

How about travel? Or maybe, crossing things of one’s bucket list. Perhaps the seeing off of children, of becoming an empty nester. Perhaps moving on after divorce, or the death of a spouse?

  • Ten Themes: Transition, Transformation, or Endings and Beginnings.

Okay, typically, this card has a rather gruesome image. Definitely one for you horror folks. All ten swords have landed in a man, pinning him to the ground under a dark sky. (Think of the final scene in 300.) Murder, crimes of passion, or war plots come to mind. Maybe a theme of pain or grief yet with the promise of the sun rising again on a new day?


Embrace change.

  • Suit Archetype/Feudal Class: Nobility, Warrior, and Political class.

Additionally, look up one of the Air signs (Gemini, Libra, Aquarius) for personality traits.

For more information on the Tens in general, please refer back to the Ten of Fire.

Image: Gaian Tarot by Joanna Powell Colbert from Llewellyn Worldwide