Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Let’s talk books!

Just Read


Delicate Freakn’ Flower (Freakn’ Shifters) by Eve Langlais

Why I picked it up: It was listed in a menage freebie list emailed to me. I’m a sucker for menages. However, I mostly picked it up because I’ve enjoyed Langlais’ humor in other books and reviews indicated it was in this one as well.

What I liked: I enjoyed the humor, as expected. The human aspect of the trio was a great mix. The heroes were just what the heroine needed even if falling in love with a shifter was the LAST thing she wanted. The way Langlais depicted the heroine’s family was a blast. I’m a bit burned out on shifters so I don’t see myself rushing out for book two but I’d recommend this if you’re still reading, loving shifters.

What I disliked: I found the animal mix unlikely. The canine/feline mix of the heroine and one of the heroes just didn’t seem believable. Then throw in a bear…?

Reading

In Her Shadow by August McLaughlin

Why I picked it up: I like supporting my blogging friends 🙂 and the blurb intrigued me.

What I like: I’m thoroughly enjoying August’s voice. She’s woven two seemingly different stories together without muddying the water. And the suspense of how these two stories are going to collide is edge of the seat. I’m about half way through and I’m still not positive who the antagonist is, and I love that. August hasn’t pulled any punches while dealing with some major issues either.

What I dislike: It took me a chapter to get with the swing of the different characters but I was still grabbed on page one.

Will Read


Phantom by Susan Kay

Why I picked this up: Um…I’m involved in a love affair with the Phantom of the Opera. And I have no intentions of giving it up!

What I expect to like: “None of us can choose where we will love.” ~ Erik. The Phantom’s POV! It appears the entire story is told in first person. The book is broken down into parts and we open with Erik’s mother’s POV.

What I expect to dislike: I’m finding it hard to get started with this. I’m not sure if it’s the story, or me. I love my Phantom. Plus, I’ve never been much of a fan-fic reader (whether or not this would be classified as such).

What are you reading and loving at the moment?

