Tags

, , , , , ,

Do you have a hobby you miss? Something set aside when the shiny came along? Or maybe something else made that beloved hobby obsolete.

For me, it was the move to Vegas. Knitting when the temps rarely fall below 50 seemed like a waste of money spent on yarn for a garment I might wear twice a year. True, there are family and friends who’d appreciate knitwear gifts but knitting in our temps…sweaty hands and yarn do not mix.

But I miss it.

Knitting relaxes me. I can let my mind wander or not depending on the pattern. And it’s a nice activity for those rare times I watch TV.

That’s how Beastie Girl got her sweater last year. Knitting for her kinda opened the floodgates, reminding me just how much I’ve missed it. Not to mention, Nicole over at Book-Wyrm-Knits is always tormenting tantalizing me with her knitting projects.

Not too long ago I learned of Craftsy on Facebook. I think someone had posted one of their yarn sales and I followed the link :cue the celestial music:

Okay, maybe that’s overkill. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I signed up for their September mystery knit. The price included the yarn, which arrived a week or so ago.

Then I reread the details…I didn’t have the right size circular needles. Oh the horror. A shopping trip :snicker:

Mystery Knit 0913My supplies are compiled. Though, depending on what size needle I’m on when the cable starts I may have to dig out my cable needle but I suspect I can use one of the double pointed needles.

And I’m impatient to begin.

I’m trilled with the color. It matches perfectly to the blue-green in the pattern of a favorite shirt. We’ll see what the end result of this mystery is in September.

If you’d like to join me in September, the details are here.

What’s an old favorite hobby of yours?

