Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

As a parent, I’m always needing to pick my battles. Is it really THAT important wee beastie #4 brushes his hair before school? In the grand scheme of things, no. Is hounding wee beastie #1, who isn’t so wee anymore, to get his homework turned in on time my fight? As a high schooler, no. I don’t want to see his grades suffer. He’s definitely old enough to deal with the consequences. But I still ask, every night.

Having everyone pitch in around the house…

This is a battle I am fighting. The boys are all old enough to help. They all have chores that benefit the family/house as well as personal.

They want nice things. That Man and I would love to give them nice things. Yet if we are constantly having to replace household items due to their mistreatment or carelessness, we don’t have money to buy the new and improved item they have their hearts set on.

You’d think this would be a pretty easy concept to grasp.

Case in point, our dishwasher broke, became clogged, or something. We have every intention to replace it, get someone in to repair it. However, until we have the funds and time, we’re washing by hand. I set up a simple schedule. #2, first of the boys up in the morning, takes care of the morning dishes. #3 takes care of the lunch/snack dishes. And #1 takes care of the dinner dishes. #4 is responsible for putting the dry dishes away in the cabinets.

You’d think I was asking them to scrub the house top to bottom with a toothbrush!

I had to give myself a time-out yesterday.

Now that I’m working full-time I have to do the majority of laundry on the weekends. First thing Saturday, I asked everyone for their dirty clothes. I received varying degrees of disgruntlement and zero participation. Fine, don’t come crying to me Monday morning when you don’t have anything to wear to school.

Then I walked downstairs.

I can’t even describe the disaster that was my kitchen. Long story, short. I told the boys if they couldn’t help me, I couldn’t help them by doing their laundry.

By mid-afternoon, the kitchen was a disaster again. I took myself to the corner bar, aptly named The Bar, LOL. A beer, a flatbread pizza, and 1.5 hours later I returned home. By God, I’m sticking to my guns, I will not cook in that mess they made and didn’t clean up, and no more laundry.

Extreme? Maybe.

Fighting a losing battle? Probably.

Parenting doesn’t come with a manual. Dogs are so much easier than boys. I can’t have them thinking housework is “woman’s” work either and, at the rate they are going, that is exactly the attitude they convey.

Rant over. Thanks for listening πŸ™‚

ROW80

Writing/Editing:

  • Morning Pages for a minimum of 250 words or half hour, whichever comes first, 6 days per week. – 1526 words/4 days.
  • Fiction, at least an hour each week. It can be brainstorming, plotting, writing, or editing. – Well, kinda. While out at The Bar, I worked on goals. I have four projects at different stages that I REALLY want to see through. So I worked on an outline of how to get there from where the projects currently sit. I’ll tweak the deadlines I’m planning to impose on myself this week. 301 words.
  • Post three times a week here on the blog. – Yep, there was A Second Week of School Done on Sunday, shared some of the Mystery Knit progress on Tuesday, and met the Elder of Water on Thursday.

Reading:

  • A minimum of 10 books to stay on track for 100 books this year. –Β  9 thus far. Finished two this week: Save My Soul by Zoe Winters and Winter Chill by Aria Grace.
  • Update Goodreads at least every other week. – Yep, including the sidebar.

Support/Social Media:

  • Visit and comment on at least 12 blogs each week. – 15 this week, whee.
  • One non-blog related post per week on Facebook and Twitter. – Twitter, yes. Facebook, no.
  • One share, re-tweet, whatnot per week on Facebook and Twitter. – Facebook, yes. Twitter, no.

Non-Writery Stuff:

  • Exercise three times per week. – 1 day of yoga and 1 walk with Beastie Girl.
  • Family day, no working and time with family, one day per week. – Nope, mostly due to the above mentioned battles.
  • Allow myself an hour each week for me time.Yep.

Be sure to check out, support, the other ROWers.

Join the Howl

The first weekend of panels is just two weeks away! Are you ready? πŸ™‚

Coyote Con is on for October, Registration is open, and if you need the intro email let me know.

I think I’ll do a “live” spread panel. Worldbuilding? Plot? Character? All three? Weigh in, in the comments.

