Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I have this running through my head for some reason today.

LOL, a great way to remember grammar rules.

Anyway…

Sundays are my accountability days, especially during ROW80. Tracking my productivity is a huge challenge for me. Marcia Richards had a post awhile ago on how she stayed on top of her blog posts and it involved a big ol’ desk calendar. Something I implemented. And when I remember to note things down on that calendar the system works great.

Then I started tracking my Morning Pages and fiction word counts on the calendar. I added in the tracking of blog visits/comments. I try to remember to track other social media too, however, that is still very much a work in progress.

What the calendar doesn’t help me with is tracking TIME. With being pulled in more directions than I can count between family/home, job, kid/school, trying to follow this writing dream and the social media that goes hand in hand with it, managing my time is key. I love my lists, they are long and varied, but again fail me in the time arena. I’ve tried timers. I’ve tried agendas. I’ve tried alarms. I’ve tried noting start and stop times on the calendar. Success eludes me.

I’m being hit with this at work as well, per our most recent staff meeting, probably why I can’t shake thinking about it. We don’t do billable hours but we do need to be tracking the amount of time spend on different projects/clients. And we have NOTHING in place to do this. Phone calls or emails are easy as they can generally be completed without interruption. Everything else…while juggling two or three other things…not so much.

Any tips or tricks?

Okay, on to my accountability for this week.

Writing/Editing:

  • Morning Pages for a minimum of 250 words or half hour, whichever comes first, 6 days per week. ~ 954 words/3 days (calling this a win because it’s over half the goal but it still needs work)
  • Fiction, at least an hour each week. It can be brainstorming, plotting, writing, or editing. ~ Not yet.
  • Not a goal but rather a note to self: maintain 3 blog posts per week. With the Meet the Cards series at an end this may be more of a challenge. ~ Done.

Reading:

Support/Social Media:

  • Visit and comment on at least 12 blogs per week, 3 of which HAVE to be ROW80 blogs. ~ 17 total/6 ROW80
  • One non-blog related post per week on Facebook and Twitter. ~ Facebook, no. Twitter, yes.
  • One share, re-tweet, whatnot per week on Facebook and Twitter. ~ No to both.

Non-Writery Stuff:

  • Exercise three times per week. ~ Nope.
  • Allow myself an hour each week for me time. ~ Done.
  • Not a goal but a note to self: maintain family day, one day each week. ~ Done. Spent Friday evening at the wee beasties’ Harvest Festival. Think county fair without the animals and held on the elementary school playground, LOL.

You can find and support other ROWers HERE.

