Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Let’s talk books!

Just Read

Anchor and Storm by Kate Poole

Why I picked it up: It was recommended on Goodreads and I liked the premise. (The cover is not conducive to the historical aspect of the story so don’t let that mislead you.)

What I liked: Just about everything. Ms. Poole did a great job setting the stage. The concern of Edgar. The aghast of Angus. The love of Emily. There is realistic jealousy and compromise between the characters. Overall, this is a story of love, trust, and sacrifice, pulling at the heartstrings. It definitely found a place on my keeper “shelf.”

What I disliked: In fact, the only reason I didn’t give it 5 stars on Goodreads is because I wish the point of view had been deeper. And I laughed at inaccuracy of the “deflowering,” though it did mimic the classic historical romance style.

Reading

Doms of Dark Haven by Sierra Cartwright, Belinda McBride, and Cherise Sinclair

Why I picked it up: One of the authors I’ve read and one was recommended.

What I liked: Each story was a quick read. All were erotic. I enjoyed the voice of the author I’d read before and the author recommended to me. The third author didn’t push any buttons but I’m willing to give her another try, it may have been the venue or story length. I do enjoy the obvious reading breaks of an anthology and the opportunity to read someone new.

What I disliked: While the stories stood alone it was obvious they were part of a series and none of these shorts grabbed me enough to want to pick up the series.

Will Read

Pagan Fire by Teri Barnett

Why I picked this up: The title actually drew me in on this one. Then the back blurb hooked me.

What I expect to like: The Celtic mythology.

What I expect to dislike: I’m a little worried about the mixed reviews I’ve seen, after I picked it up :sigh:

What are you reading and loving at the moment?

