Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Let’s talk books!

Just Read

I finally sat down and read this one.
Pagan Fire by Teri Barnett

Why I picked it up: The title actually drew me in on this one. Then the back blurb hooked me.

What I liked: I predicted I’d enjoy the Celtic mythology which I did. The story intrigued me from page one and moved forward with a steady pace. The brutality of the time period wasn’t shied away from nor was it graphically in your face which I appreciated. The author obviously did a lot of research and it didn’t come out as info dumps. And while I wasn’t expecting a HEA the author delivered one for me 🙂

What I disliked: I predicted being worried about the mixed reviews which were founded. The narration, at best, is omnipresent and, at worst, a bundle of head hopping, neither of which I have much patience for.

Just Read

Because, once again, I’m between books at the moment.

Master of the Opera by Jeffe Kennedy (click on the covers to go to Amazon)

Why I picked it up: Phantom of the Opera, duh. Don’t those covers just draw you in…?

What I liked: This was a nice twist on the Phantom. Set in New Mexico, with Native American themes running through it, and modern day; we have Christine arriving as a prop apprentice, Roman (Raul) as her childhood sweetheart, and the Master (Phantom). The author wove a wonderful who-done-it tale with my beloved POTO story. We have the tragic hero in the Master. I wanted him to win just as much as I have ever wanted Eric to. Christine isn’t quite as naive as her namesake, though she has her moments. 5 stars all the way.

What I disliked: I’m not a fan of the serial, so waited until all the parts were published. I wish this was available in a single eBook for my keeper file 🙂

SPOILER: This had the HEA I’ve always wished for Eric to find. Thank you Jeffe!

Just Read

Because, once again, I’m between books at the moment. Yeah, I’m sounding like a broken record.
Second Hand Heart by Catherine Ryan Hyde

Why I picked this up: I honestly don’t remember. It was sitting on my eReader for some time before I clicked it open. I’m guessing the blurb caught my eye.

What I liked: I was pleasantly surprised by this tale. It reads like you’ve picked up someone’s diary and it works really well for this story. The main character is Vida and she’s been dying her whole life. There’s quite the emotional ride as we follow Vida and her quest for life and discovery of self. Which is all I’m going to say because I don’t want to ruin the tale for you. This rates one of my rare 5 stars.

What I disliked: I can’t say there was anything I disliked. I will say those who don’t hold with cellular memory will likely find a lot of this story requires the reader to suspend belief.

What are you reading and loving at the moment?

