Tags

, , , ,

I finally did it. Only ten years in the making!

Last May, I talked about this tattoo.

Tat_outlining_1

Outlining

Tat_shading_1

Shading

Tat_finished_1

Finished

I’m completely thrilled with how this turned out.

For those of you on the fence:

Start to finish, this piece took two hours.

I was pleasantly surprised at how little this hurt. I’m not sure if that’s due to me having a high pain tolerance or, more likely, extra padding, LOL.

During the outlining stage it felt like someone was drawing a pin across my skin, the only painful part was when it felt like it was going against the grain, if that makes sense.

The shading stage didn’t hurt at all.

Aftercare, I recommend A&D ointment. It seemed to speed up the healing process. You use a light coat over the tattoo for 5 days then switch to a lotion like Lubriderm for 2-3 weeks depending on location. A tattoo is completely healed once the flaking is over and there is no raised skin in the tattoo area.

The itchy/flaky period of the healing process is the worst! You don’t want to scratch which can damage the art.

And don’t tell That Man, but I think I caught the tattoo bug…

This one I had been thinking about for ten years.

Another, which I can’t do while working where I do as they don’t allow exposed tattoos (and I don’t plan to be regulated to trousers for the rest of said tenure), is an ankle tattoo to represent the wee beasties. I’ve wanted to do this since youngest came along but it wasn’t until oldest designed it about five years ago that I added it to my list.

After my post last year and someone mentioning a sister tattoo, I have that on my list too. I even know what I’d like to do if beloved sis is up for it 🙂

I better stay on top of this weight loss, LOL

