Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Basic BreadMaria and I talked about comfort food, aka bread, in the comments of my Gluten-Free Muffins post last week. The smell of fresh baked bread, heaven.

I’ve been limiting my wheat intake for a while now and, surprisingly, haven’t really missed the bread. However, it is still a comfort food. When I’m feeling weak, or simply tired of tacking what I’m eating, the idea of warm bread calls my name.

The Wheat Belly Cookbook has a Basic Bread recipe. It’s the starting point of just about every bread recipe in the book and the foundation for yumminess like French Toast.

I was missing the Garbanzo Bean flour for the recipe but was able to stop at Whole Foods after my hair appointment Saturday. Thus…

Baking Day!

Basic Bread SliceThe Basic Bread is a dense bread and very filling. It is not, however, a bread you’d want to eat dry. At least, it’s not for me. All in all, I’m pretty happy with the results.

As with the muffins, substitutions were made: olive oil instead of butter, and a soy-based yogurt for buttermilk.

Made up more muffins, too 🙂

What’s one of your comfort foods?

