Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Let’s talk books!

Just Read

The Secret Door: A Phantom of the Opera Novel by J.M. Smith

Why I picked it up: It was an Amazon rec based on the Jeffe Kennedy Phantom books I’d read. Hey, y’all know me, I’m all about the Phantom.

What I liked: I enjoyed the story, the time-travel element that brought the heroine to the Phantom’s world. There was a nice spin at the end and a HEA.

What I disliked: The execution. I don’t know if the author was attempting to emulate Leroux or just inexperienced but it came across as a jumbled head hop. It was an extremely frustrating read.

Reading

Renaissance Wench by Melanie Macek

Why I picked it up: Mel’s one of my online friends and one of the few I’ve actually met IRL. And while I don’t consider myself drawn in by covers, this one sings.

What I liked: I enjoyed how the couple met, it was fun and felt real. The story is a sweet contemporary romance with a bit of a rags-to-riches spin.

What I disliked: I didn’t buy the investigation. Or maybe it was that I didn’t understand the hero’s job. I know enough about financial planning/broker houses to know the average rep wouldn’t be involved beyond reporting the crime. Yet Simon was up to his eyebrows. If Simon worked for FINRA I could see it but I was left with the feeling he worked for an independent broker/dealer or financial planning company.

Will Read

The Icarus Plot by Jenny Schwartz

Why I picked this up: Maria mentioned it and I liked the blurb.

What I expect to like: The steampunk aspect.

What I expect to dislike: I think it’s novella-length so it’ll probably be shorter than I want.

What are you reading and loving at the moment?

