Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

The Fireman – For you, every event is a crisis. You’re so busy putting out fires that you have no time to deal with anything else – especially the boring, mundane things such as time management. Tasks pile up around you while you rush from fire to fire all day.

Typically seen – Running to car.

(Source)

I’d love to be able to laugh at that but it is sadly apropos.

I’ve tried the Google calendar but gave it the boot after a series of syncing issues.

I’ve tried Cozi based on the Flylady, who keeps my housework sane (or at least as sane as it can be in my male dominated house), but it didn’t resonate with me.

I’ve tried every free app in the Google Play Store and uninstalled them all for one reason or another.

Paper to the rescue. A couple years ago I found this planner. I loved the blend of goal setting and detailed weekly grid. When it came time to buy again I stuck with the company but oped for their Super-Mom Planner. With a spot for meal planning on top of the fabulous weekly grid and goal worksheets, it definitely fits my life better.

It’s not enough to just jot down appointments though. I have goals I want to reach and somehow must block out the time for the needed steps.

Enter Excel. I’m a geek. Sue me.

I wanted to create a template where I could play around with blocking out time for different activities, something I could fall back on when life got crazy. (I know, when isn’t it.)

I ended up with this–

PlanningSaturdays were left more flexible due to football games. Plus I try to keep that a family day as much as humanly possible.

I’m on week two of using this template. Wish me luck 😀

What’s your time management tool of choice? Do you make an appointment with yourself each week to plan/schedule the upcoming week?

984bf8bda5d152c03f7c1a9741dc45b3

