Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

One of the things I’m making sure to fit into my schedule is food prep. More specifically, cooking in bulk. With football and archery in the evening I don’t have time to cook two nights, or more, a week. On top of that is the fact I’m following a vegetarian diet. The rest of the family is not.

Buried somewhere in my collection of cookbooks is Frozen Assets: How to Cook for a Day and Eat for a Month. I’ve had this baby since it was published. I love the idea and have even pulled it off a time or two. I currently don’t have a kitchen I could cook a month’s worth of meals in. A week, yes.

Meal planning in general is just plain smart. Less waste. Less money.

Apparently, frugal cooking and food prepping are themes in 2015.

Admittedly, most of my prep/bulk cooking this time around was for myself. Having a breakfast and a lunch I can grab on my way out the door weekdays is vital for my continued weight loss and diet. So here’s how I spent a couple hours Sunday morning:

Step one: Comfy shoes

Comfy Shoes

Styling, right?

We have a spaghetti night planned, so first thing I did was get a spaghetti squash in the oven.

Spaghetti SquashWhile the squash was baking, I prepped a new to me recipe. I did a search for vegan recipes and found this Zucchini with Chickpea and Mushroom Stuffing recipe on AllRecipes.com.

Gather the ingredients

Gather the ingredients

Bake. Yum.

Bake. Yum.

Portion up for lunches, or possibly dinner.

Portion up for lunches, or possibly dinner.

Then the squash was ready to portion out.

Separate the flesh with a fork.

Separate the flesh with a fork.

I'll have one serving on spaghetti night with one left over for a lunch.

I’ll have one serving on spaghetti night with one left over for a lunch.

I harvested the last of my kale.

KaleSauteed it up with some garlic and mushrooms.

Kale-SauteedPortioned it out and added an egg scramble (utilizing dinner’s left over veggies).

This will be good for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Yummy in my tummy.

This will be good for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Yummy in my tummy.

Last, but not least, I made a couple big salads to go with the butternut squash soup I left at work.

That small container holds my tablespoon of olive oil with a tablespoon of balsamic vinegar.

That small container holds my tablespoon of olive oil with a tablespoon of balsamic vinegar.

Have you tried bulk cooking? Do you have a recipe you fall back on in a pinch?

984bf8bda5d152c03f7c1a9741dc45b3

