Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Let’s talk books!

The River of Time Series by Lisa T. Bergren

Just Read

 

Waterfall, Cascade, and Torrent

Why I picked it up: I was given a Waterfall ARC many, many moons ago and was hooked. This was a re-read of the original trilogy.

What I liked: I enjoyed Gabi’s first person narrative. The time-travel. It’s believable in that time-travel magic way. The history. Bergren researched it well and integrated everything without info dumps. The characters. All the characters are fully realized, people I could meet on the street, and beautifully flawed. There is growth. The pacing in each story fits and kept me turning the pages.

What I disliked: It’s not a real dislike, I just prefer to avoid it in fiction, but a theme of faith becomes more prevalent as the series progresses. It’s well done, not beat you over the head with a bible, and certainly fits the era the story is set.

Reading

Bourne & Tributary

Why I picked it up: This volume contains two novellas and is the next in the continuing series.

What I like: Bourne continues the first person narrative and introduces us to Lia’s (Gabi’s sister) POV. A logical next step in the series as we shift from Gabi’s adventures to Lia’s.

What I dislike: Tributary continues both sisters’ POV but adds third person for secondary characters. While I appreciate why this was done, it broke the continuity of the series.

Will Read

Deluge

Why I picked this up: This is the final (and has an epilogue which the others have not, however, I’ll say to date just in case) volume of the series.

What I expect to like: More of the back and forth first person narrative of the sisters.

What I expect to dislike: Gabi coming across as more damsel in distress than kick-ass heroine of which there have been glimpses of throughout the series.

What are you reading and loving at the moment?

984bf8bda5d152c03f7c1a9741dc45b3

