Tags

, , , , ,

ToT-ButtonToday’s prompt is 10 Things About Your (insert your choice of furniture here).

So here’s 10 things about my Bedroom Suite.

  1. My parents bought it in a garage sale the year they married.
  2. My parents shipped it cross country, at least once, including a ferry crossing or two, and brought it to the states from Canada.
  3. I claimed it the summer of ’76, rescuing it from our family garage sale.
  4. I’ve moved it cross country twice.
  5. I remember the thrill of touching the top of the highboy dresser for the first time as a child. It sparkles in my memory like a rite of passage or, at least, growth.
  6. I’ve watched that same thrill dance in each of the wee beasties’ eyes when they touched the top of the highboy dresser for the first time.
  7. Two of the four wee beasties were born on the bed embraced by its head and foot boards.
  8. It is a French Provincial suite consisting of head and foot boards, dresser and mirror, highboy dresser, and two night stands in a natural wood accented with gold leaf.
  9. It needs Maria’s refinishing magic, desperately. Barring that, money and time 🙂
  10. It officially became an antique in the years since I claimed it – I estimate it to be in the neighborhood of 130 years old this year.

~Sorry no picture, too much chaos here in Casa de Barclay.

