, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Generally, all Sevens:

  • Express self-knowledge of their suit, or element.
  • Reflect the themes and wisdom of the Chariot.
  • Symbolize focus and goals.
  • Can be the plot point turning into the final act; the character’s re-dedication to the path; or anytime “saying no to the good, in order to say yes to the great” applies.
  • Begins the final set of mini-dramas, representing conscious choice, mentioned in the Numbers in Tarot post.
  • For additional info on Sevens check out Tarot Notes Take a Number series on Sevens.

What I See:

Gaian-Tarot-Seven-WaterBesides the obvious water behind the man, the colors are the first Water element feel I get as I look at this card. The various containers are the next items to capture my gaze. Each piece of glass is unique, yet similar in purpose…rather like us humans, joined by our humanity yet uniquely individual.

We often talk about refilling the well and this is a great visual of that. I also get a sense of making a choice. What made him choose that goblet over any of the other containers? There’s also a feeling of commitment…he’s drinking down the entire contents.

General Water element/Cups suit:

Please refer back to the Ace of Water

Light (upright) Reading:

Let your intuition guide you and make a decision.

  • Keywords: Creative Visualization, Imagination, Variety, or Dreams.

Shadow (upside down or reverse) Reading:

Beware of indecision. Take action, you can change course once you’re moving forward again.

  • Keywords: Debauchery, Delusional, Temptation, or Self-Deception.


A refilling the well tale comes to mind. Following dreams. Choosing action, or one path over another. Perhaps a ‘choose-your-own-adventure’ story?

There are seven birds and seven containers, perhaps seven is a reoccurring theme in your story? Seven days of the week. Seven virtues. Seven colors of the rainbow. Seven musical notes in a scale. Seven Chakras. Seven Alchemists’ metals. Seven deadly sins. Seven gifts of the Holy Spirit. Seven tests for your MC to master?

How about a genie-in-the-bottle tale? A glass bottle collector?

Perhaps, your story is exploring the darker side. Is he a drunk? Maybe your MC is paralyzed by fear or unable to make a decision and move forward in life, career, or a relationship?

  • Seven Themes: Initiation, Focus, Inner Work, Setting Intentions, or Self-awareness.

Typically, this card shows a man’s back to us with seven cups floating in/on clouds. There’s more of a daydream feel to it, perhaps, your character is lost in daydreams. Perhaps the cups are awards or trophies. Or, maybe, ‘all that glitters is not gold’?


Commit to you dream.

  • Suit Archetype/Feudal Class: Clergy and Priestly class.

The personality enneagram, a nine-pointed array of personality types, might also be a useful reference for character building.

All Sevens are E7: Epicure, Enthusiast, Visionary, Dream, and/or Generalist

  • Self Image — I am happy
  • Passion — Gluttony, Over-indulgence, or Charlatanry
  • Virtue — Sobriety
  • Narcissistic Trap — Idealism
  • Avoids — Pain
  • Speaking Style — Garrulous or Story-telling

E7 people are ruled by their head. They need to understand the pattern of events, where all the pieces fit in the puzzle of life, and are often detached from their emotions. Their objectivity may hide feelings of isolation or confusion.

Additionally, look up one of the Water signs (Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces) for personality traits.

Image: Gaian Tarot by Joanna Powell Colbert from Llewellyn Worldwide