Tags

, ,

:happy dancing:

I just picked up a new set of Tarot cards.

The Gaian Tarot is an earth-honoring deck. It was created for pagans and others who honor Gaia, the earth, as a living being and who practice an earth-centered spirituality. Previously available as a majors-only set while the minors were completed, the full collector’s edition of this beautiful deck is available from the artist. It’s also published by Llewellyn in a mass-market edition. ~Aeclectic Tarot

I love these cards! There’s something about the idea of a Mother Earth deity that appeals to me. If you’re looking to get started with Tarot this deck has gorgeous images while remaining faithful to traditional structure and comes with a comprehensive book.

My friend Maria Zannini suggested I do a series of posts highlighting each card in the Tarot deck. Thursdays will be dedicated to this new feature, using my brand new deck. We’ll learn it together ๐Ÿ™‚

My focus will be on Using Tarot in Writing because others with more experience have similar series focusing on the cards in life applications (see Tarot Notes Journey Through My Decks feature or One Card, One Meaning feature).

There are 78 cards in a Tarot deck so this well be a long series. My plan is to have blocks of 4 to 6 weeks with a break in between each block.

The Major Arcana is pretty straight forward, we’ll travel zero through twenty-one. We have options, however, with the Minor Arcana. Which would you prefer?

  • Travel each suit Ace to King (Wands, Cups, etc.)
  • Travel each number with all the suits (Aces, Twos, etc.)

If there are specific questions you’d like to see addressed please note them in the comments.

I hope you’ll return on October 13th for The Fool.

EDIT: I fixed the Using Tarot in Writing link.